More Than 600 Turn Out For Chippys

April 17, 2016 CMU Athletic Communications

More than 600 student-athletes, students, family members, supporters and fans turned out Sunday to Plachta Auditorium for the 2016 Chippys, the annual awards show dedicated to showcasing the best, the brightest, the most exciting and most inspiring in Central Michigan University athletics.

In their eighth year, the Chippys have evolved into one of the annual highlight events of campus life. A dozen Chippys were presented Sunday, with proceeds went to Special Olympics Michigan.

Joe Houlihan of the CMU baseball team and Shafer Johnson of the football team served as masters of ceremony.

The Chippys winners:

• Best Team: women’s basketball

• Coach of the Year: John Bonamego (football)

• Best Game: Baseball team’s 8-7 walk-off win in 2015 over Michigan State at the Clash at Comerica.

• Best Assistant Coach: Heather Oesterle (women’s basketball)

• Spirit of Special Olympics Michigan Award: Baseball team

• Professor of the year: Tim Otteman

• Male Athlete of the Year: Chris Fowler

• Female Athlete of the Year: Tinara Moore

• Best Championship Performance: Bryttany Kaplan and Megan Lamphere at the 2016 MAC Gymnastics Championships.

• Best Play: Presley Hudson’s (women’s basketball) buzzer beater vs. Bowling Green.

• Fan of the year: 6th Man Band

• Breakthrough Athlete: Tinara Moore (women’s basketball)

• Freshman of the Year: Presley Hudson (women’s basketball)
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps