Central Michigan Athletics Expands Social Media

Watch: Athletics Insider with Dave Heeke

Chippewa fans now have a chance to see a different perspective inside the athletics offices of Central Michigan University.

Associate Vice President/Athletics Director Dave Heeke has launched a twitter account (@Dave_Heeke ), which will give fans a chance to see a behind-the-scenes perspective of the daily operations of CMU Athletics and Heeke's support for CMU's 16 varsity teams.

"This is a big step moving forward for our athletics department in being more accessible and interactive with the terrific fan base we have in our students and alumni, as well as the community of Mount Pleasant," Heeke said. "Building a presence in social media during a time in which it is so prevalent throughout our society gives us just another opportunity to portray the championship culture that we are continuing to build throughout CMU Athletics."

The fifth-year athletics director's social media presence will provide daily tweets to followers, giving them an inside look at his pride, passion and commitment to the "C".

The addition of Heeke to social media enhances CMU's official twitter account (@CMUAthletics), which has built a following of over 2,500, making it a leader in social media throughout the Mid-American Conference. Heeke will be the first active athletics director in the MAC to provide daily updates.

"With everything we do, from our championships athletically to our success academically, we want to be a leader throughout the MAC," Heeke said. "I hope to enhance that presence to continue to build the brand that is CMU Athletics, throughout our community and globally.

"Continuing to move forward as a department and being innovative in our efforts is essential in all aspects. We not only want to be the leaders of the pack on the field and in the classroom, but socially and interactively with our great Chippewa fans as well."
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps