CMU Finishes Second in Jacoby Trophy Standings

MOUNT PLEASANT - Central Michigan has finished runner-up for the Jacoby Trophy, the Mid-American Conference's women's all-sports award.

It is the second straight year the Chippewas have finished second and third straight year they have ranked in the top three.

CMU earned its runner-up finish largely on the strength of one conference championship and three runner-up finishes during the 2011-12 season.

The gymnastics program posted its third consecutive conference championship in 2012, posting a season-high score of 195.675 at the conference championship meet. Kristin Teubner was named MAC Senior Gymnast of the Year and Jerry Reighard was named MAC Coach of the Year for the ninth time after CMU clinched its record 13th MAC Championships title.

The Chippewas closed their season with a fourth straight trip to the NCAA Regionals.

Earning second-place points for the Chippewas were the cross country, soccer and field hockey programs.

Three Chippewas finished in the top 11 overall at the 2011 MAC Cross Country Championships, led by Charnele Lyons' sixth-place showing. The soccer program set a school record for winning percentage, finishing 15-3-3 overall (.786), and ranked 17th nationally in winning percentage in 2011. Field hockey tied for second in the MAC standings and advanced to the semifinals of the MAC Tournament for a fifth straight season.

On the men's side, CMU placed ninth in the Reese Trophy standings. Both the cross country and wrestling programs posted second place finishes last season to lead the Chippewas' effort. The baseball program, meanwhile, remains in contention for a MAC West Division title entering the regular season's final weekend.

For the Reese and Jacoby Trophies, points are awarded based on each school’s finish, with the overall total divided by the number of sports sponsored by each school. An institution may count either indoor track and field or outdoor track and field, but not both.

In 12 sports, points are awarded based on a team's regular season finish: baseball, men's and women's basketball, field hockey, football, men's and women's soccer, softball, men's and women's tennis, volleyball and wrestling.

In 11 sports, points are awarded based on a team's conference championship or tournament finish: men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's swimming and diving, men's and women's indoor track and field, men's and women's outdoor track and field and gymnastics.

The men’s trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner David E. Reese. Reese was the first-ever MAC Commissioner and served the conference from its inception in 1946 until 1964.

The women’s trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner Fred Jacoby. Jacoby was the MAC Commissioner from 1971-82 and is credited with incorporating women’s athletics into the conference structure.
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps