CMU Women Runner-up in MAC Jacoby Standings

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Central Michigan women’s athletic program finished second in the final standings for the Mid-American Conference Jacoby Trophy.

It is the fourth consecutive year that the Chippewas have finished runner-up in the standings, a ranking of the combined overall finishes by teams in MAC competition.

Kent State won the Jacoby Trophy for the first time since 2010.

Akron captured the Reese Trophy for men’s competition, marking the first time the Zips have ever finished in the top spot. Central Michigan was seventh in the 12-team league in the Reese Trophy standings.

The gymnastics and basketball teams led the CMU women.

The Chippewa gymnasts captured their fifth consecutive MAC title and the 15th in program history, both conference records.

Kylie Fagan led the CMU women as she captured the MAC title on bars, and three Chippewas – Emily Heinz, Halle Moraw and Taylor Noon – won NCAA Regional titles and qualified for the NCAA Championships. Moraw earned first-team All-MAC honors.

The CMU women’s basketball team, led by MAC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year Crystal Bradford, won the MAC West Division title and advanced to the Women’s NIT.

The CMU women’s soccer and softball teams both finished second in the MAC West, while the cross country team placed third in the MAC Championships and the field hockey squad tied for third in the regular-season MAC standings and advanced to the championship game in the conference tournament.

On the men’s side, the CMU baseball team finished second in the MAC West and in the overall conference standings; the cross country team placed third in the MAC Championships; and the football team tied for third in the MAC West.

MAC universities are awarded a point total based on their finish in the standings in each sport. A school’s point total is then divided by the number of sports in which it competes, for an average number. The Reese and Jacoby standings are based on those point averages.

The men’s trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner David E. Reese. Reese was the first MAC Commissioner and served the conference from its inception in 1946 until 1964.

The women’s trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner Fred Jacoby. Jacoby was the MAC Commissioner from 1971-82 and is credited with incorporating women’s athletics into the conference structure.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps