MAC Announces Reese and Jacoby Trophy Winners

MOUNT PLEASANT Central Michigan University placed third in the Reese Trophy and seventh in the Jacoby Trophy standings for the 2007-08 academic year.

The Reese (men’s) and Jacoby (women’s) Trophies are awarded to the Mid-American Conference schools with the best overall athletic teams each school year.

The CMU men, led by championships in football and wrestling, placed third after winning the all-sports title in 2007. The Chippewas accounted for 51 points in six sports for an average of 8.5.

The CMU women scored 54.5 points in eight sports for an average of 6.81.

Eastern Michigan won the men’s championship with an average of 9.62 points, while Miami claimed the women’s title with a 9.66 average.

Points are awarded based on each school’s finish, with the overall total divided by the number of sports sponsored by each school. An institution may count either indoor track and field or outdoor track and field but not both.

The men’s trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner David E. Reese. Reese served as commissioner from the league’s inception in 1946 until 1964. The women’s trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner Fred Jacoby. Jacoby was the MAC Commissioner from 1971-82 and is credited with incorporating women’s athletics into the league’s structure.

The Chippewa men have finished in the top three of the Reese standings in six of the last nine years. The CMU men and women have won the all-sports title twice each.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps