Deadline Is Friday For All-Finch Fieldhouse and All-Rose Arena Teams

MOUNT PLEASANT -- The proud past of Central Michigan University’s athletics history will be linked to its future when the Chippewas honor 70 former greats this fall.

With a new events center on the horizon for CMU, the Athletics Department is recognizing the top 35 student-athlete performers from each of its previous two venues, Finch Fieldhouse and Rose Arena.

The All-Finch Fieldhouse and All-Rose Arena teams will be announced this fall and honored at the Homecoming football game on Oct. 11. The teams will also be part of a historical display in the new events center.

Anyone can nominate athletes for the team. Nominees must have competed in varsity sports in the venue. The list of nominees will be trimmed down to a final ballot of 100 candidates for each team. The 35 members of each team will be chosen by a combination of fan balloting on and a selection committee.

Members of CMU’s Athletic Hall of Fame are automatically nominated for the ballot.

The nomination process will continue through this Friday, June 27. Online ballots will be available beginning July 1 and will run through Aug. 1.


Finch Fieldhouse (1951-1973; until 1984 for indoor track)
Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Men’s Gymnastics, Men’s Swimming, Women’s Swimming, Men’s Indoor Track, Women’s Indoor Track, Wrestling

Rose Arena (1973-present)
Men’s Basketball, Women’s Basketball, Women’s Gymnastics, Men’s Swimming, Women’s Swimming, Volleyball, Wrestling


CMU Hall of Fame Members Receiving Automatic Nomination for the Ballot

All-Finch Fieldhouse Team Automatic Nominees
Barry Alexia, men's track and field
Walter Beach, track and field
John Berends, men's basketball
Paul Botts, men's basketball
Jeff Drenth, men's track and field
Don Edwards, men's basketball
Willie Iverson, men's basketball
Barry Jacobsen, track and field
Rob Johnson, men's track and field
Dick Kackmeister, men's basketball
Ben Kelso, men's basketball
John Koren, wrestling
Gary Lee, men's basketball
John Matthews, wrestling
Karen Karner-Michalak, track and field and women's basketball
Tom Minkel, wrestling
Pete Miskov, men's track and field
Dave Myers, men's track and field
Dave Nelson, men's basketball
Jim Nesbitt, men's track and field
Gloria Neve, women's basketball and volleyball
Dick Parfitt, men's basketball
Bruno Pauletto, men's track and field
Jim Podoley, track and field
Rod Rapp, wrestling
Dan Reaume, swimming
John Smith, men's track and field
Glenn Stuart, men's basketball
Marie Tuite, women's basketball
Ed VanderHeuvel, track and field
Sheila Wallace-Kovalchik, women's basketball and volleyball
Mike Windsor, men's track and field

All-Rose Arena Team Automatic Nominees

Jody Beerman-Kelley, women's basketball
Fred Boss, wrestling
Julie Decker, women's basketball and volleyball
Jeff Diekema, swimming
Leonard Drake, men's basketball
Dave Grauzer, men's basketball
John Hartupee, wrestling
Angie Henderson-Montroy, volleyball
Joanne Hoskins, volleyball
Dan Majerle, men's basketball
Gina Mazzolini, women's basketball and volleyball
James McElroy, men's basketball
Melvin McLaughlin, men's basketball
Jeff Mills, wrestling
Sue Nissen-Hayes, women's basketball
Sylvia Odum, women's basketball
Terri Phillion-Dulude, volleyball
Ben Poquette, men's basketball
Harry Richards, wrestling
Shelby Root, gymnastics
Dan Roundfield, men's basketball
Carla Sterk-Fles, women's basketball
Jeff Tropf, men's basketball
Kevin Vogel, wrestling
Betsy Yonkman, women's basketball

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps