CMU Announces 2015 Hall of Fame Class

Sept. 10, 2015 MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - Six former Chippewa athletic greats and a team will be inducted into the Central Michigan University Marcy Weston Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 16 during a ceremony in McGuirk Arena. The free event is open to the public and begins at 7 p.m.

The 2015 Class is comprised of Scott MacGregor (Baseball, 1988-91), Chris Marshall (Wrestling, 1999-2000), Matt Means (Football, Men’s Basketball, 1971-74), Amber (Puchalski) Darracq (Softball, 2001-04), Kara (Reighard) Schuette (Gymnastics, 2002-05), Janel Spero (Field Hockey, 1999-2002) and the 1974-75 Men’s Basketball Team.

"I want to congratulate each inductee on this well-deserved honor as the people that are a part of this class have been some of the top representatives of our program over the past 50 years,” CMU Director of Athletics Dave Heeke said. “Our induction ceremony is one of our top events each year as we look forward to reuniting with our former student-athletes and celebrating alongside the many people who have helped them succeed.”

The six inductees will also be introduced during halftime of the Central Michigan-Buffalo football game on Saturday, Oct. 17 at Kelly/Shorts Stadium.

• Scott MacGregor was a three-time All-MAC selection, earning first team honors in 1991, second team honors in 1990 and was honorable mention All-MAC in 1988. He is considered one of the top defensive players in program history, committing just 16 errors in 1,521 chances at first base, a fielding mark of .989. (Full bio)

• Chris Marshall was a two-time All-American, taking fifth at 141 in 1999 and eighth at 141 in 2000. He also won two MAC titles, winning at 141 in 1999 and 2000. Marshall helped CMU finish seventh as a team at the 1999 National Championships. (Full bio)

• Matt Means is considered to be one of the first great wide receivers for Central Michigan, helping the Chippewas to a National Championship in 1974. He started all 35 game of his CMU career, finishing as CMU’s career record holder for receptions (130) and receiving yards (2,004). (Full bio)

• Amber (Puchalski) Darracq was twice named MAC Pitcher of the Year and was a three-time first team All-MAC selection. She was twice named first team all-region and set MAC records for career victories (81) and strikeouts (970). (Full bio)

• Kara (Reighard) Schuette won five MAC individual titles including two on vault (2003 & 2004), two in the all-around (2003 & 2004) and one on floor (2003). She was named MAC Gymnast of the Year in 2005 and selected the 2002 MAC Freshman of the Year. (Full bio)

• Janel Spero was named MAC Player of the Year in 2002, the first CMU player to ever earn the honor. She led CMU to the 2002 MAC Championship, earning first team All-MAC honors in 2002 and second team in 2001. (Full bio)

• 1974-75 Men’s Basketball Team won its final four games, with three of them coming on the road, to claim the 1975 MAC title outright. It was the first MAC hoops title in school history and sparked a string of three championships in a five-year span. CMU won its NCAA Tournament first-round game over Georgetown (77-75) when Leonard Drake hit two free throws after time expired. (Full bio)

The Class of 2015 is the 32nd group of inductees, and it brings to 196 the number of hall members - athletes, coaches, administrators, contributors and championship teams. The inaugural class was inducted in 1984.

To be eligible for induction, the following must hold true for athletes: one becomes eligible 10 years after their final season; one must earn two letters in one sport or one or more in two sports; or brought recognition to the school by his or her athletic endeavors; and an outstanding career as an athlete must be continued in the individual's profession or occupation. 

For induction as faculty/staff: a person becomes eligible five years after leaving his or her coaching position or athletic-related administrative position.

Hall of Fame selections are made by the Marcy Weston Athletics Hall of Fame Board of Directors.

The hall is named in honor of Marcy Weston, Executive Associate Director of Athletics/Sport Administration who came to CMU in 1972 and has served the university athletic department in several capacities, including as a coach and an administrator, for more than 40 years.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps