Amanda Waugh Named 2009 Boyden Award Recipient

MOUNT PLEASANT – The Bill Boyden Leadership Award Selection Committee and Central Michigan University are proud to announce that Amanda Waugh is the 2009 Boyden Award winner.

Waugh (Burlington, Ont./Nelson SS) is a two-year varsity letterwinner as a forward in the CMU women’s soccer program. She is the second women’s soccer player, and first since 2003, to win the award.

The Boyden Award recipient is selected each spring from among those applicants who are varsity letterwinners and will be in their final year of eligibility the following fall. The award is not primarily an academic one. Instead, it singles out a senior-to-be of satisfactory academic standing whose record best combines participation in a varsity intercollegiate sport with leadership ability in campus affairs and activities, interests or accomplishments in the arts and community involvement.

Waugh has engaged in a variety of leadership roles during her time on campus. Over the summer, Waugh co-founded a non-profit group called Student-Athletes Leading Social Change (SALSC). SALSC is an organization of student-athletes who select and adopt social change projects. The group tackles important social issues such as poverty, education, homelessness and healthcare.

Waugh is the student representative on CMU's Athletics Director Leadership Program's advisory board. In that role, she serves as the liaison to CMU's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

An integrative public relations major and media design minor, Waugh maintains a 3.88 grade-point average. She was a first team All-Mid-American Conference and an Academic All-MAC team selection in 2008. She was also named to the CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District IV third team last season.

Waugh has served as one of Central’s team captains for the past three seasons. She currently ranks fifth in CMU history with 17 career goals while her 44 career points ranks sixth in school annals. She led the Chippewas and finished second in the MAC with 22 points (eight goals, six assists) last season and is tied for the team lead in assists this fall.

The Boyden Award is designed to honor the student-athlete who is and will be an exemplary representative of CMU.

The winning applicant will be provided a cash award to be applied to their institutional financial aid account. If the recipient is on athletic scholarship, NCAA regulations restrict the total amount of financial aid that a student-athlete can receive. The student-athlete may then direct the value of the award to any department or project in the university if they have reached their maximum financial aid limit. The award winner’s name is inscribed on the permanent plaque located prominently in Rose Center. The honoree is presented with an individual plaque and a special gold “C” Boyden Award lapel pin.

Nominations for the Boyden Award may be made directly by the nominee or by a coach, teacher or fellow student. Applications for the award are available at the athletics office and must be submitted between Jan. 1 and April 1 of each year.

The Bill Boyden Leadership Award was established in memory of W.B. (“Bill”) Boyden, a 1935 CMU graduate. His life and accomplishments demonstrated a unique blend of athletic ability, leadership, business acumen, participation in the arts and an extraordinary involvement in community activities.

Bill was a football and track star who earned recognition as most valuable backfield man in his senior year at CMU and set a school record for the 100-yard dash in track that stood for many years. Active on campus, Bill was elected President of CMU’s Student Council and acted in several campus dramatic productions.

Boyden volunteered countless hours and endless energy for CMU, reflecting his pride in and affection for his alma mater. He was a long-time member of the University Development Board, serving twice as its chairman, until his untimely death in 1980. As a member of that board, Bill is acknowledged as the initial motivating force behind the construction of Kelly/Shorts Stadium.

Bill Boyden honored Central Michigan University during his life and the Boyden Award seeks to honor and continue promotion of his ideals and his university.

Boyden Award Recipients

1981 — Cary Kipke, Baseball

1982 — Terri McFarland, Basketball/Softball

1983 — Paul Salyers, Wrestling

1984 — Kevin Egnatuk, Football

1985 — Ken McDonald, Soccer

1986 — Kathy Moody, Softball

1987 — Dan Majerle, Basketball

1988 — Rodney Lackey, Track

1989 — Mark Hopkins, Football

1990 — Sue Nissen, Basketball

1991 — Paul Benford, Soccer

1992 — Jason Wilkie, Football

1993 — Renee Olsen, Volleyball

1994 — Chad Cutshall, Track

1995 — Vicki Epple, Gymnastics

1996 — Kary Tomaw, Track

1997 — Greg Jones, Baseball

1998 — C.J. Remmo, Football

1999 — Chris Vike, Wrestling

2000 — Jon Borovich, Basketball

2001 — David Webber, Basketball

2002 — Marvin Smith, Football

2003 — Katie Conway, Soccer

2004 — Kara Reighard, Gymnastics

2005 — Tamera Thomas, Track

2006 — James Ricchio, Baseball

2007 — Elizabeth Carpenter, Track/Cross Country

2008 — Brian Brunner, Football

2009 — Amanda Waugh, Soccer

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps