Hall of Fame Class of 2009 Inducted

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - Five former Central Michigan University student-athletes and one team were inducted into the CMU Athletics Hall of Fame Friday as the members of the Class of 2009.

This year’s inductees were Richie Brinker (cross country/track and field, 1995-99), LaTanga (Cox) Christmas (women’s basketball, 1983-86), Casey Cunningham (wrestling, 1996-99), Pat O’Keefe (baseball, 1965-67), Rose (Trahan) Cipriano (swimming, 1979-82) and the 1971 baseball team.

A capacity crowd gathered at the Comfort Inn to hear each of the five individual inductees speak, as well as former head coach Dave Keilitz, who spoke on behalf of the 1971 baseball Chippewas. In addition, Interim CMU President Kathy Wilbur shared some opening remarks and Athletics Director Dave Heeke spoke to the crowd about the new Events Center.

The Class of 2009 will be recognized at halftime of Saturday's football game against Akron.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps