Class of 2011 Honored with Hall of Fame Induction

MOUNT PLEASANT - Six former student-athletes and one championship team were officially enshrined into Central Michigan University's newly announced Marcy Weston Athletics Hall of Fame Friday evening during official ceremonies.

Family, guests and current members of the hall joined the Class of 2011 for an induction ceremony open to the public inside McGuirk Arena.

The class is comprised of Reggie Allen (football, 1995-98), Eli (Barnes) Beshear (softball, 1996-99), Nicole Bills (gymnastics, 1997-2000), Chris (Cooper) Gaudard (track and field/cross country, 1985-89), Greg Richardson (track and field, 1996-2000), John Rollins (wrestling, 1958-61) and the 1976 field hockey team.

At the end of the evening, University President Dr. George E. Ross announced the naming of the Hall of Fame in recognition of Weston, a staple of Central Michigan Athletics for the past 40 years. Several donors have stepped forward and made significant gifts to the CMU Events Center project specifically to attach Weston's name to the Athletics Hall of Fame.

Weston, who began her career with the Chippewas as a field hockey, volleyball and basketball coach in 1972, continues to be a major influence on collegiate athletics around the country. The NCAA recognized her in 1991 as one of nine major contributors to the first decade of NCAA women's basketball; she was inducted into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2000; and was inducted into the CMU Athletics Hall of Fame in 2004. She is currently a Senior Associate Athletics Director at CMU.

The hall of fame is permanently located in the CMU Events Center atrium with plaques recognizing each induction class and touch-screen kiosks that include member photos, videos and biographies.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps