2007 Hall of Fame Profiles

MOUNT PLEASANT -- Central Michigan University will induct six former Chippewa greats into its Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 12. The induction ceremony is being held at the Comfort Inn with a social hour beginning at 6 p.m., and dinner at 7 p.m.

Set to be enshrined are Leonard Drake (men’s basketball, 1974-77); Brock Gutierrez (football, 1992-95); Angie (Henderson) Montroy (volleyball, 1982-85), Dick Kirchner (wrestling coach, 1957-64); Bill Taylor (men’s track and field/cross country, 1987-89); and Betsy Yonkman (women’s basketball, 1983-86).

The six inductees will also be honored at halftime of the CMU-Army football game on Saturday, Oct. 13.

Tickets for the 2007 induction banquet are available at a cost of $40. They can be purchased at the CMU Athletic Ticket Office or by calling 1-888-FIRE-UP2.

In the week leading up to the induction banquet, cmuchippewas.com will profile one inductee each day.

Oct. 6 -- Leonard Drake, Basketball

Oct. 7 -- Brock Gutierrez, Football

Oct. 8 -- Dick Kirchner, Wrestling Coach

Oct. 9 -- Angie (Henderson) Montroy, Volleyball

Oct. 10 -- Bill Taylor, Men's Track and Field/Cross Country

Oct. 11 -- Betsy Yonkman,Women's Basketball

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps