CMU Welcomes New Inductees into Hall of Fame

Oct. 17, 2014

From CMU Athletic Communications 

Photo Gallery

Six former Central Michigan University greats were inducted into the Marcy Weston Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday evening in McGuirk Arena.

Receiving the highest honor bestowed by the department were wrestler Gordon Cashen, gymnast Selina (Nickason) Mirjavadi, baseball player Clark Huntey, football player Scott Rehberg, softball player Brenda Schrader, and track and field coach Jim Knapp.

The group will also be recognized at halftime of the football game against Ball State on Saturday.

The CMU Marcy Weston Athletics Hall of Fame began in 1984 and the current roster now includes 189 individuals and four teams.

To be eligible for induction, the following must hold true for athletes: one becomes eligible 10 years after their final season; one must earn two letters in one sport or one or more in two sports; or brought recognition to the school by his or her athletic endeavors; and an outstanding career as an athlete must be continued in the individual's profession or occupation. 

For induction as faculty/staff: a person becomes eligible five years after leaving his or her coaching position or athletic-related administrative position.

Hall of Fame selections are made by the Marcy Weston Athletics Hall of Fame Board of Directors.
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps