Bill Boyden Award

The Bill Boyden Award recipient is selected each spring from among those applicants who are varsity letterwinners and will be in their final year of eligibility the following fall. The award is not primarily an academic one. Instead, it singles out that senior-to-be of satisfactory academic standing whose record best combines participation in a varsity intercollegiate sport with leadership ability in campus affairs and activities, interests or accomplishments in the arts, and community involvement.

The Boyden Award is designed to honor the student-athlete who is and will be an exemplary representative of CMU.

The winning applicant will be provided a cash award to be applied to their institutional financial aid account. If the recipient is on athletic scholarship, NCAA regulations restrict the total amount of financial aid that a student-athlete can receive. The student-athlete may then direct the value of the award to any department or project in the university if they have reached their maximum financial aid limit. The award winner’s name is inscribed on the permanent plaque located prominently in Rose Center. The honoree is presented with an individual plaque and a special gold “C” Boyden Award lapel pin.

Nominations for the Boyden Award may be made directly by the nominee or by a coach, teacher, or fellow student. Applications for the award are available at the athletics office and must be submitted between January 1 and April 1 of each year.

The Bill Boyden Leadership Award was established in memory of W.B. (“Bill”) Boyden, a 1935 CMU graduate. His life and accomplishments demonstrated a unique blend of athletic ability, leadership, business acumen, participation in the arts, and an extraordinary involvement in community activities.

Bill was a football and track star who earned recognition as most valuable backfield man in his senior year at CMU and set a school record for the 100-yard dash in track that stood for many years. Active on campus, Bill was elected President of CMU’s Student Council and acted in several campus dramatic productions.

Boyden volunteered countless hours and endless energy for CMU, reflecting his pride in and affection for his alma mater. He was a long-time member of the University Development Board, serving twice as its chairman, until his untimely death in 1980. As a member of that board, Bill is acknowledged as the initial motivating force behind the construction of Kelly/Shorts Stadium.

Bill Boyden honored Central Michigan University during his life and the Boyden Award seeks to honor and continue promotion of his ideals and his university.

Boyden Award Recipients

1981 — Cary Kipke, Baseball

1982 — Terri McFarland, Basketball/Softball

1983 — Paul Salyers, Wrestling

1984 — Kevin Egnatuk, Football

1985 — Ken McDonald, Soccer

1986 — Kathy Moody, Softball

1987 — Dan Majerle, Basketball

1988 — Rodney Lackey, Track

1989 — Mark Hopkins, Football

1990 — Sue Nissen, Basketball

1991 — Paul Benford, Soccer

1992 — Jason Wilkie, Football

1993 — Renee Olsen, Volleyball

1994 — Chad Cutshall, Track

1995 — Vicki Epple, Gymnastics

1996 — Kary Tomaw, Track

1997 — Greg Jones, Baseball

1998 — C.J. Remmo, Football

1999 — Chris Vike, Wrestling

2000 — Jon Borovich, Basketball

2001 — David Webber, Basketball

2002 — Marvin Smith, Football

2003 — Katie Conway, Soccer

2004 — Kara Reighard, Gymnastics

2005 — Tamera Thomas, Track

2006 — James Ricchio, Baseball

2007 — Elizabeth Carpenter, Track & Field/Cross Country

2008 — Brian Brunner, Football

2009 — Amanda Waugh, Soccer

2010 — Brendan Emmett, Baseball

2011 — Paulina Lee, Field Hockey

2012 — Val DeWeerd, Volleyball

2013 — Raechel Zahrn, Softball

2014 — Deon Butler, Football/Hallie Enderle, Volleyball

2015 — Chris Fowler, Men's Basketball

2016 — Jasmine Harris, Women's Basketball

2017 — McKenzie Wieber, Track & Field

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps