Oliver Repeats As Sherwood Award Winner

Newton Smerchek was received the Most Improved Wrestler Award on Sunday at the Central Michigan wrestling team's annual banquet.
April 10, 2017

Andy Sneddon, CMUChippewas.com

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – Justin Oliver received the Chick Sherwood Award as Central Michigan’s most outstanding wrestler at the team’s annual banquet on Sunday.

Oliver, a sophomore, also earned the awards for Most Falls and Most Team Points. It was the second-consecutive season that he earned both the Sherwood and the team points award.

Other award winners: Harry Richards Award (coaches award), Austin Severn; Most Improved Wrestler, Newton Smerchek; Redshirt Wrestler of the Year, Drew Hildebrandt; Most Near Falls, CJ Brucki; Most Takedowns, Colin Heffernan.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps