Boatload Of MAC Awards For CMU Women

March 6, 2018

Andy Sneddon,

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – Central Michigan’s Tinara Moore was named the Mid-American Conference Player of the Year for women’s basketball on Tuesday as the league released its awards.

Moore, a 6-foot-3 forward, also earned the league’s Defensive Player of the Year Award and earned a spot on the All-MAC First Team along with teammate Presley Hudson, a junior guard. Hudson finished second to Moore in the player of the year vote.

It is the second consecutive year that both players have landed on the first team. Moore was also named to the league’s all-defensive team for the third consecutive year.

CMU coach Sue Guevara earned the MAC Coach of the Year Award, and Chippewa junior forward Reyna Frost was named to the all-conference second team. CMU guard Micaela Kelly earned a spot on the MAC All-Freshman Team.

Moore joins Crystal Bradford (2014) as Chippewas to have won the MAC Player of the Year Award, and she becomes the first in program history to have twice been named the league’s top defender. She is the first back-to-back winner of the award since Toledo’s Andola Dortch accomplished the feat in 2013.

It is the second time that Guevara has earned the league’s coach of the year award. Her first came in 2016. She is the only coach in program history to have captured the honor twice.

The Chippewas play Eastern Michigan in a MAC Tournament quarterfinal game on Wednesday (noon) at Quicken Loans Arena. CMU is the top seed.

Moore ranks fourth in the league in scoring at 19.2 points per game and is second – to Frost – in rebounds per game (9.6). Moore is averaging a league-best 2.3 blocks and her season total, 68, is a program record.

Hudson ranks fifth in the MAC in scoring at 18.6 points per game, is fifth in assists (5.4) and is fifth nationally in free throw percentage (.926). Hudson has made 110 3-pointers this season, the ninth-best total in the country.

Moore and Hudson become the first Chippewas to earn back-to-ball first-team all-conference honors since Bradford accomplished the feat in 2013 and in 2014. Only one other player, Sue Nissen in 1990 and in ’91, has been named to the first team in consecutive years.

Frost ranks 12th in the nation at 11.7 rebounds per and, with her 14.1 points-per-game average, is averaging a double-double.

Kelly averages 10.8 points and 3.6 assists. She ranks third among league freshmen in scoring and first in that group in assists.

In her 11th year at CMU, Guevara led the Chippewas to their second consecutive regular-season MAC championship, marking the first time in program history that CMU has accomplished that feat, and the first since 1985.

With 25 wins against three losses, the Chippewas stand two victories away from tying the program record for wins in a season (27 in 1983-84). Guevara, who led the Chippewas to their third consecutive MAC West title this season, has amassed a 201-145 record in her 11 years in charge of the program.

The Guevara-led Chippewas have won 20 or more games in seven of the last eight seasons, and are a combined 164-91 (a .643 win percentage) in that span.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps