CMU Field Hockey Earns Academic Accolades

March 17, 2017

Andy Sneddon,

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. – The Central Michigan field hockey team was honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association for its academic excellence.

The Chippewas received the National Academic Team Award, 15 CMU players were named to the National Academic Squad, and four Chippewas were named a Scholars of Distinction.

“I am so pleased that our field hockey program has continued our tradition of academic excellence,” CMU coach Molly Pelowski said. “This honor is part of our program’s tradition and culture. I know our student-athletes are very proud of this honor and take their academic achievements very seriously.”

CMU’s Willow Guenther, Sarah Mesko, Georgina Minta and Leah Umberger were named Scholars of Distinction. To qualify, players had to attain a grade point average of 3.90 or better through the first semester of the 2016-17 academic year.

Guenther, Mesko, Minta and Umberger were named to the National Academic Squad along with teammates Harriet Aburn, Lily Amadio, Carly Brengosz, Sarina Buchannan, Alexandra Davis, Anna Forry, Grace Forthaus, Addison Marshall, Kayla McClure, Maude Stalars and Olivia Wagner.

Stalars and Wagner are four-year members of the squad.

“These two athletes have represented our program with the highest honor,” Pelowski said. “I am so thankful that they are a part of our program and they continue to demonstrate Chippewa Pride with grace and class.

The National Academic Team Award goes to teams with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps CMU Sports Camps