Prestigious Academic Honors For 5 Chippewas

March 26, 2018

Julianne Weidman,

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. -- Five Central Michigan student-athletes were named a 2017 Zag Field Hockey/National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I Scholar of Distinction.

Those CMU student-athletes named to the squad, listed with year, major and grade point average: Alli Huddleson, freshman, undecided, 3.94; Sarah Mesko, sophomore, neuroscience, 3.97; Georgina Minta, sophomore, law/economics, 3.94; Anna Riesenberg, freshman, undecided 3.93; Leah Umberger, junior, exercise science/kinesiology, 3.91.

It is the second year that Mesko, Minta and Umberger have been named a Scholar of Distinction.

To be eligible, student-athletes are required to have achieved a cumulative grade point average of at lease 3.90 through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


CMU Sports Camps